Dinners

Black Bean Tostadas

help-make-a-change

My family would always have a taco night and my mom would pair it with some tostadas. I have not had them in so long since I am at college so when I was at the grocery store I knew I had to have them this week. I did put my own twist on them though. They usually are made with refried beans but I am slightly obsessed with black beans and knew I had to try them with this. Rating on which beans are better? Honestly, I don’t think I could choose they are both so delicious. Maybe one of you foodies can test both for me. Maybe even put refried and black beans on at the same time! We are getting crazy now…

What you will need!

  • White or Yellow corn tortillas
  • 1 can of black beans
  • Shredded cheese (Mexican blend works best)
  • Shredded iceberg lettuce
  • Salsa
  • Guacamole
  • Oil (I used olive oil)

*You can add sour cream!

Let’s get started!

Pour a decent amount of oil in a deep skillet pan. When the oil is hot, place a tortilla in the middle of the pan. When you see the edges start to brown, flip the tortilla over. Once the tortilla becomes crispy, put aside.

While cooking the tortilla, heat up your black beans on medium heat in a small sauce pan.

Take a paper towel and dab it onto the tortilla to get excess oil off.

When your tortilla is ready, take spoonfuls of black beans and put them on the tostada. Now add the guacamole. Add a small amount of salsa on top of the guacamole. If you chose to use sour cream, put it on here.

To your liking, put the cheese and lettuce on top!

Get cooking foodies!

 

Leave a Reply

