Dinners

Beef Taquitos

Hey foodies! So it is no surprise that I love Mexican food. I grew up with it and now am trying to make it for myself. Yes trying… not succeeding. I attempted to make taquitos tonight instead of running over to Surf Taco and ordering them. No they did not turn out exactly like the traditional taquito BUT whatever they turned out like it was DELICIOUS! I swear they were so yummy and filling. Plus the greatest thing about it? You can literally put anything you want in them! I made beef ones tonight but will soon attempt again to make chicken. Will I ever be as good as a cook as my mother and father? Stay tuned.

 

What you will need!

  • Corn tortillas
  • 1/2 of an onion (chopped)
  • Black beans (I used half of a can)
  • Shredded lettuce
  • Salsa (I used Sabra pico de gallo)
  • Meat or chicken (I used left over Filet Mignon and cut/shredded it)
  • 1/2 bag of shredded Mexican cheese

Let’s get started!

Take a baking sheet and cover with foil. Spray Pam on top of the foil and put aside.

In a medium sized bowl, mix together the chopped onion, drained black beans, some of the shredded cheese, and the meat.

(Here is where I messed up. I did not do the step of heating up the tortillas.) Take 4 corn tortillas and heat them briefly so they are able to roll. Once heated, start to scoop the meat mixture into the middle of the tortilla. Attempt to roll and place seam down onto the foil.

Push the 4 filled tortillas together and sprinkle the remaining shredded cheese on top.

Set the oven to 450 degrees.

When ready, put the taquitos into the oven and bake for 15 minutes.

While they are cooking, take a plate and put some shredded lettuce onto it. When the taquitos are done, place them on top of the lettuce and add salsa on top.

*It is easier to eat them with a fork and knife so it is less messy!

 

Get cooking foodies!

Leave a Reply

